Evasion Aravis Ski Touring Weekend, Jan 2020

Evasion Aravis Ski Touring Weekend, Jan 2020

James, Isabella & Scott, Megeve & Les Contamines Ski Touring Guiding

Great to ski with you again Rob. Thanks for a gret weekend, as always.  James

Thanks to all 3 of you for a fantastic weekend!  Isabella 

Les Contamines Ski Touring
James enjoying the powder on our Contamines Ski Touring Weekend

Thanks for a fun weekend everyone. Scott

Jan 2020 Chamonix Intro Ski Touring Weekend

Jan 2020 Chamonix Intro Ski Touring Weekend

Orla, Arul & Roberta

Thanks Rob for a cracking ski weekend! Lots of learning and fun. Arul

Hi Rob!! Thank you for the weekend!
I learned so much and had a lot of fun! I am really looking forward for the weekend in March!  Roberta

Ski Chamonix Off Piste
Ski touring on the Swiss side of the Col de Balme

Hi everyone, thanks for the great company and photos. I had a great time!  Orla

Chamonix Ice & Mixed Climbing, Jan 2020

Chamonix Ice & Mixed Climbing, Jan 2020

Martha & Vincent Tin, Hong Kong, Chamonix Private Guiding
We had a wonderful time climbing with Kevin! It was the best introduction we could’ve possibly had to winter climbing– and definitely a new and worthwhile experience for both of us. We have indeed received the photos from Kevin- great photos!
Mixed climbing Chamonix
Martha enjoying the ice & mixed combination on Pt Lachenal’s ‘Pellisier Gully’, Chamonix. Photo Kev Avery
Anyways, thanks again for helping us organise a fantastic few days of Chamonix climbing! And hopefully, we’ll be in contact again in the future for more!
Ski Vallée Blanche & Grands Montets Guiding

Ski Vallée Blanche & Grands Montets Guiding

Matt & Tanner, Jan 2020, Chamonix ski guiding
Skiing with Kenny was a highlight of our time in Chamonix. After spending a full day discovering off piste areas around Grand Montets, we were thrilled to spend the last day of our trip with an early season descent of the Vallee Blanche. Kenny’s expertise and good spirit were invaluable throughout our time together, ensuring we enjoyed ourselves while staying safe. Only high marks for Kenny and the team at High Mountain Guides!
Ski Grands Montets
Team Philadelphia enjoying the sun at Grands Montets
Hope to see you next time. Matt
Off Piste Guiding At Les Grands Montets, Chamonix

Off Piste Guiding At Les Grands Montets, Chamonix

Kitty & Max Whitney, Private Guiding For Chamonix Off Piste Skiing

Rob and Kenny
We had a great time.
Max told us what he learned today. We are so grateful for Kenny sharing his knowledge.

Enjoying the chalky firm pack at the Grands Montets off piste skiing. 

We appreciate you guys!!!
Kitty

Denali Expedition Training, Chamonix November 2019

Denali Expedition Training, Chamonix November 2019

Tanya & John, Chamonix Autumn Mountaineering Training & Guiding

Hi rob thanks for the last few days we have learnt so much and you have been an awesome guide.

Snowy Couloir Climbing Above Le Tour At The Eastern End Of The Chamonix Valley

Thanks for your help and support it’s been great and you made our trip exceptional with the weather conditions.
We learnt so much.

Tanya & John. 

Chamonix Mountaineering, October 2019

Chamonix Mountaineering, October 2019

Rami Bibi, Private guiding & training weekend in Chamonix

Rob has been instrumental in getting me into mountaineering. First through the courses organized in Wales, and then through his organization in the Alps. We recently did a weekend together in Chamonix and it was as good as it gets. He is experienced, energetic and a fantastic mentor. Don’t think you will find better.

Chamonix Mountaineering Guide
Rami on the superb exposed granite ridge section leading in to the crux of the Aiguilles d’Entreves

Speak soon, Rami Bibi

Cosmiques Arete Ascent Oct 2019

Cosmiques Arete Ascent Oct 2019

Tom & Olga, Autumn Mountaineering In Chamonix

“Me and my wife had the pleasure to do the classic Arête des Cosmiques on Oct 17th with Rob. From the first touchpoint via email and through the entire planning and the tour itself, Rob was as professional, friendly, patient and supportive as you would expect from a great guide. Next time on tour around Chamonix, there‘s no doubt about which guide we‘ll contact.

Chamonix Mountaineering Guide
Early autumn conditions arrive on the Cosmiques Arete with the Aiguille du Gouter and Aravis beyond.

Thanks Rob for that great day up there! And also for the nice pictures!” Regards, Tom & Olga

Mont Blanc Training Weekend, Snowdonia Oct 2019

Mont Blanc Training Weekend, Snowdonia Oct 2019

Zsuzsa & Ingrid, Snowdonia Mont Blanc Preparation Course
The weekend went well, it could have only been better had it not rained all day on Sunday 🙂 Matt & Ian were fantastic, very knowledgeable, professional, experienced & just the most patient and nicest guides one can get. I even started to enjoy the grade 2 scrambling 🙂
Training for Mont Blanc
Scrambling on the North Ridge of Tryfan. A wonderful journey and great Mont Blanc training. Photo Matt Dickinson
Your communication to us whilst booking this weekend, your enthusiasm and the guide’s professionalism made this weekend fun, enjoyable and very useful for a possible future Mt. Blanc climb.  So thank you very much, Rob, and hopefully see you on  one of the other courses in the next year, Zsuzsa
Matterhorn Training Weekend, Snowdonia Oct 2019

Matterhorn Training Weekend, Snowdonia Oct 2019

Olga and Rodney Bonnard, Matterhorn Training Weekend
Olga and I had a good weekend with Matt and feel we moved our skills on which was great.  Sunday morning was a little better than forecast but around lunchtime we called it quits due to heavy rain. Saturday was good all day and we pushed through until fairly late.  Matt showed a lot of patience and shared lots of practical advice.
Snowdonia Scrambling Guide
Rodney & Olga enjoying ‘the dry day’ during our inspiring Matterhorn training weekend in Snowdonia. Photo Matt Stygall.
Thanks, Rodney
Monte Viso & Gran Paradiso Ascents – Autumn 2019

Monte Viso & Gran Paradiso Ascents – Autumn 2019

Rodrigo Villamuera & Malene Roald, early autumn Paradiso & Mt Blanc Group Course

Thanks Rob, Mark and the team for a fantastic experience in Torino and Gran Paradiso!  I will never forget this experience, it’s been a pleasure to have it among such great people.  Solid guiding, patience, good teaching effort, amazing stories and all logistics taken care of.  And a great summary with amazing pictures published next day, wow! Really good guys, thanks a lot.  Rodrigo, Gran Paradiso & Monte Viso.

Chamonix Mountaineering
Gran Paradiso Team training at the col Marbrees during the Torino Hut training phase. Monte Bianco behind.

Thanks for a great trip all, and to Rob and Mark for top guiding! It’s been an awesome experience in great company, and we’ve learned so much over the past few days!  Malene, Gran Paradiso

You can view Rodrigo’s fun short video account of the Gran Paradiso course here.

Autumn Gran Paradiso Course

Autumn Gran Paradiso Course

Nick Chambers, Gran Paradiso Climb early October 2019

I just wanted to say thanks to all of you for a magical trip. It was great to meet you all and spend time with you all in such spectacular conditions with amazing scenery.

Mark and Rob – I’m sure you have various levels of clients and teaching alpine babies might come with challenges but if you ever questioned it then please know that the teachings this weekend will be with me forever and hopefully serve me for many years as a starting block for more adventures.

Gran Paradiso ascent
IFMGA Guide Mark Seaton leads the group up the lower dry glacier section on the ascent from Rifugio Chabod.  Dawn on Monte Blanc upper right.

To all of you, it was an adventure I’ll never forget, thanks for sharing it.  Nick 

Sept 2019 – Gran Paradiso Ascent

Sept 2019 – Gran Paradiso Ascent

Gareth Conde & Team, Chamonix Mountaineering Training & Climb Gran Paradiso
Thanks for a fantastic trip. The organisation from first contact to the end of trip was first class and you even managed to organise the weather!!  Neil & Paul were terrific, striking the perfect note between respecting the fact we were there for some fun while still keeping us safe & giving us our best chance of succeeding.
Chamonix Mountaineering Guide
Mountaineering Training around the Skyway Monte Bianco & Rifugio Torino in preparation for the ascent of Gran Paradiso. Late Sept 2019.
We will most certainly be back in the mountains again – with you preferably – and I’m already looking for another trip of similar length sometime early next season. Any suggestions welcome.  Once again, big thanks.  Gareth.
Weissmies & Dry Hornli Private Guiding Sept 2019

Weissmies & Dry Hornli Private Guiding Sept 2019

Simon Withey, Chamonix mountaineering & Weissmies Ascent as progression from recent alpine intro courses.
It was a great few days thanks & a good suggestion by you to do the Weissmies. I loved the route – a lovely but fairly gentle walk to the hut and some good climbing in the sunshine on the Dri Hornli. Watching the sunrise at the Zwischbergenpass was great, and although I started to flag a little toward the top of the southeast ridge, the scrambling was fairly straight forward on good dry rock. The summit snow ridge was comfortable – not too exposed for me, and the views to the Mischabel range and Bernese Oberland absolutely stunning! Overall, a really great coupe of days. Dylan was an excellent guide I’ve learnt a lot more and the Weissmies trip has given me more confidence and inspiration to tackle similar routes.
Dry Hornli Ridge
Simon enjoying the brilliant sustained – and sometimes hard – scrambling on the Dry Hornli Ridge above the Almageller Hut, Saas Almagel
Thanks, Simon
Chamonix Glacier Travel & Mountaineering Training Day

Chamonix Glacier Travel & Mountaineering Training Day

Sonya & Matt Thomas, Chamonix Private Guiding Aiguille du Midi, Sept 2019
We had a great time with Jonny – it was exactly what we were after. His style of teaching & passion for mountaineering meant we both learnt a huge amount whilst thoroughly enjoying ourselves. We highly recommend both Jonny and High Mountain Guides & will be sure to get in touch in the future for training/guiding.  Thanks again for your recommendations for routes in the area, we have had a great time climbing these last few days and can’t wait to return in Spring.  All the best, Matt and Sonya 
Chamonix Guide
Mountaineering Training Day from the Aiguille du Midi including a traverse of the Arete Laurence, Glacier Travel & Crevasse Rescue Training
Zermatt & Swiss 4000m Peak Guiding Sept 2019

Zermatt & Swiss 4000m Peak Guiding Sept 2019

Scott Bugden & James Carr, Zermatt & Saas Fee Private Guiding
Hi Rob, Thanks again for a great week of mountaineering, excellent guiding Rob, as always. Great trip.  James
Castor Guide
James & Scott high on the superb narrow snow ridge of Castor. Weisshorn beyond on the left.

Thanks again for a really good week-4x 4000’s in a week was pretty cool I reckon! 😀

Scott

Gran Paradiso Course – Sept 2019

Gran Paradiso Course – Sept 2019

Nick, Owen & Paula Van Der Gugten, Gran Paradiso & Mont Blanc

Hi Rob,We had an amazing time on the Gran Paradiso tour!

Thanks Paula
Mountaineering Course
The team during the training and acclimatisation phase at Base Camp Rifugio Torino accessed via Skyway Monte Bianco. Photo Sandy Allan

The trip was great.  Thank you. Nick

Chamonix Rock Climbing & Alpine Mountaineering

Chamonix Rock Climbing & Alpine Mountaineering

Kevin & Alistair Colman, Intro To Alpine Mountaineering Aug 2019
Thanks for a great trip, it was great meeting you and Jonny. We learned a lot and had a great time.  Alister is all fired up to get fit for Mont Blanc.  Will keep in touch and contact you later in the year. Say a big thanks to Jonny for our alpine day. It will live long in the memory.
Kev & Alistair cracking on with some wet rock climbing at Servoz in the Chamonix Valley.
Thanks again, and all the best for now.  Kev.
Mont Blanc Training & Summit Climb, Sept 2019

Mont Blanc Training & Summit Climb, Sept 2019

Tom & Dariusz Strapoc, UK Mont Blanc Preparation Weekends & Gran Paradiso Ascent....

Hello Rob, just wanted to let you know that me and Tom successfully climbed Mont Blanc on September 2nd! 🙂

Summit of Mont Blanc after lots of good training in Snowdonia, Scottish Highlands & Gran Paradiso
I’d like to use this opportunity to thank you and your amazing team of guides for all the progressive training and knowledge sharing, which were essential to our success! 🙂 Again best regards and hope catch up again soon.  Cheers Dariusz.
Climb The Zinalrothorn, August 2019

Climb The Zinalrothorn, August 2019

Pete Jackson, Zermatt Private Guiding
Rob, Thanks for the note, photos and a couple of great days out in the mountains. Really enjoyed the experience, route and your guidance. Like you my legs are a tad sore but in a satisfying good way.
Great early morning positions and enjoyable scrambling on the upper ridge on Zinalrothorn.

Thanks for the flexibility on today. As you prompted, and my phone forecast indicated, it was not a good day for being in the mountains. Pete